Manix-Geeves and Egan take out prestigious award among others
Date of Event National Indigenous Cricket Championships: Mon Feb 12, 2018 12:03PM
Women's Team of the Tournament

With the 2018 National Indigenous Cricket Championships (NICC) coming to a close, awards were given to those who best performed.

The night started off with Queensland's Women and South Australia's Men teams awarded  'the best team spirit of Cricket'. The award was decided by the umpires and based on Respect for opponents, respect for role of the umpires and respect for the game. 


List of award winners as follows


Batting award:
Women's - Courtney Hagen (Queensland) 205 runs at an average of 68.33
Men's - Damon Egan (Victoria) 284 runs at an average of 71

 Across this years NICC competition, out of the 44 matches the 50 milestone was reached on 25 occasions and the 100 milestone was reached on two occasions with Damon Egan (Victoria) scoring the highest individual score of 160 not out. 

Bowling award:
Women's - Jemma Astley (New South Wales) 9 wickets with an average of 7.56
Men's - Tied three-ways between Rhys Ward (Tasmania), Wade King (Victoria) and Martin Jeffrey (New South Wales) whom all took 13 wickets. 

 In the bowling department, Brock Larance (New South Wales) begun the tournament with a bang taking 6/16 in the first game of the carnival. Amanda Silva (South Australia) made the best return in the women's division with 4/11

Fielding award:
Women's - Sara Darney (New South Wales) Six catches 
Men's - Tyran Liddiard (New South Wales) Ten catches


Champion player award: 
This Award was determined by the umpire votes throughout the course if the round matches, in a three, two, one format. 

1st: Emma Manix-Geeves (Victoria) 18 points 
2nd: Courtney Hagen (Queensland) 15 points
=2nd: Sara Darney (
New South Wales) also 15 points

Emma amassed 182 runs at an average of 60.67, with a highest score of 60*

1st: Damon Egan (Victoria) 19 points
2nd: Nathan Price (New South Wales) 14 points 
3rd: Rhys Ward (Tasmania) 13 points

Damon amassed 284 runs at an average of 71, with a highest score of 160*. He also stared with the ball taking 7 wickets with his best figures being 4/51.


2018 Black Cap Honour Squad:
This award is the creation of the best team of the championship.


Emma Manix-Geeves (VIC)
Sara Darney (NSW
Courtney Hagen (QLD)
Dharmini Chauhan (NSW)
Nicole Honeysett (NT)
Anita Silva (SA)
Christina Coulson (QLD)
Kyra Black (QLD)
Julie Muir (NSW)
Samara Williams (WA)
Jemma Astley (NSW)
Hannah Darlington (NSW)

Damon Egan (VIC)
Brodie Hayes (TAS)
Nathan Price (NSW)
Brendan Smith (NSW)
Bevan Bennell (WA)
Zac Chapman (NT)
Rhys Ward (TAS)
Martin Jeffery (NSW)
Brock Larance (NSW)
Ben Patterson (NSW)
Djali Bloomfield (NSW)
Jack Coppins (SA)

Last updated: Monday February 12, 2018 4:35PM

Principal Partner